best for small must for all Festival Calendar 2023
Home city guide courts in salem

Courts in Salem

Salem Bar Association in Tamil Nadu
Salem Bar Association

Salem District in Tamil Nadu has well established courts that are found in large number of divisions along the headquarters and the other towns. The history of Salem courts tells the story of  the judges make their work in a predetermined manner to create wisdom and justice among the citizens of Tamil Nadu.

District Courts of Salem:

Civil Courts:

There are civil courts like the Zilla Court in the Salem District and it is known to have been originated in the time period of 1st July, 1803 on the regulation II of 1802.

Courts in Salem

In the year of 1859 the Civil Procedure code was put forward and later on in the year 1873 the civil courts came into existence on the basis of the Madras Civil Courts Act, 1873.

Criminal Courts:

Salem District owns three good and well established Magistrates which have a higher opinion in the judiciary area. Around the year of 1958, the railway Magistrate was constituted in the Salem District. The Juvenile Court at Salem District has become as the only Bench Court. Later on two other Courts known as the Fast Track Courts were constituted in Salem for quick disposal of the Cases. In the year 2003 there was a Mahila Court that was particularly for the women. Recently, around 2009, an Additional Sub-Judge No.2 Court has also been established for the awareness of the pendency of cases in 2009.

List of Criminal and Civil Courts in Salem:

Criminal Courts in Salem:

  • No. I Judicial Magistrate Salem
  • No.II Judicial Magistrate Salem
  • No.III Judicial Magistrate Salem
  • No.IV Judicial Magistrate Salem
  • No.V Judicial Magistrate Salem
  • No.VI  Judicial Magistrate Salem
  • No.I Judicial Magistrate Sankari
  • No.II  Judicial Magistrate Sankari
  • No.I  Judicial Magistrate Attur
  • No.II  Judicial Magistrate Attur
  • No.I  Judicial Magistrate Mettur
  • No.II  Judicial Magistrate Mettur 

Civil Courts in Salem:

  • Principal District and Sessions Court, Salem
  • AdditionalDistrict And Sessions Court, Salem
  • Fast Track Court No.1 Salem
  • Fast Track Court No.2 Salem
  • Principal District Munsif Court, Salem
  • I AdditionalDistrict Munsif Court, Salem
  • II AdditionalDistrict Munsif Court, Salem
  • Special Court for EC Act cases, Salem
  • Principal Sub Court, Salem
  • I Additional Sub Court, Salem
  • II Additional Sub Court, Salem
  • III Additional Sub Court, Salem
  • Labour Court, Salem
  • Family Court, Salem
  • Mahila Court, Salem
  • Chief Judicial Magistrate Court, Salem
  • Sub Court, Mettur
  • Sub Court, Attur
  • District Munsif's Court, Attur

Salem Courts and the Judges:

Civil Court Judges:

There are many civil and criminal courts at the Salem District and which are presided over by the different judicial officers, who listen to the assigned cases and deliver judgments. The Principal District and Sessions Court in Salem is presided by the Principal District judge, Thiru S. Bhaskaran.  After that, AdditionalDistrict And Sessions Court at Salem is looked after by Thiru C. Raghavan who is Additional District Judge -1. The Fast Track Court No.1 is controlled by Thiru. G. Chandrasekaran in Salem. Mr. Thiru. V.Sivagnanam, B.A., B.L., presides over the Fast Track Court No.2 Salem.

The seat at Principal District Munsif Court is presently vacant. The first Additional District Munsif Court is presided over by Thiru. N.Pari. The second Additional District Musif Court at Salem has Smt. K.Kanyadevi as the Judicial officer. Thiru. R.Anburaj presides as the judicial officer of Additional District Munsif No. 3 Court or trainee District Judge.

The name of the labour court judge is Thiru. S.Chandran.  Tmt. S.Ramathilagam is the special judge for EC Act cases. Similarly, the judge for the family court is Thiru.Dr.G. Jayachandran.  Presently, the seat of Sessions Judge for Mahila Court is vacant. Thiru. S.Sengottaiyan looks after the work of Chief Judicial Magistrate in Salem. Presently the responsibility of the Principal Sub-Judge is taken over by Thiru. R.Chandran. The responsibility of the LSA, Secretary or Sub-judges is with Thiru. C.Kumarasamy. Tmt. G.Kalavathy is handling the responsibility of Additional Sub - Judge No.1 and Thiru. D.V.Anand,is working as Additional Sub - Judge No.2. Thiru. S.Nallathambi presides over the Chairman or  Taxation Appeals Tribunal in Salem.

Criminal Courts Judges:

Presently, the post of Judicial Magistrate No.1 and 2 is vacant. The post of Judicial Magistrate No. 3 is presided over by Thiru.A. Muraleedharan. Tmt.V. Sree Vidya sits as the Judicial Magistrate No.4. in the Criminal Court. Thiru. G.Sarathraj is acting as the Judicial Magistrate No.5 and Thiru. S.Jaganathan is the Judiciaal Magistrate no. 6.

Contact Information:

Gurukkal Colony,
Salem - 636008

Explore more about Administration in Salem

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries